Chamber News

May 29, 2015

Leadership Floyd County Graduates Recognized

The Floyd County Chamber of Commerce recently recognized and honored graduates of the 2014-15 Leadership Floyd County Academy during the annual Chamber Awards banquet held on May 7, 2015 at the Wilkinson-Stumbo Convention Center.

The Leadership program is an educational opportunity designed to promote and develop business and community leaders. The primary goal is to prepare the participants to take an active role in building a communications network to advance the county and encourage innovative ideas. Leadership graduates bring a fresh and informed perspective back to their community and their employer which helps shape the future of Floyd County.
Through a series of sessions, participants were educated about Floyd County. The group met and talked with current county leaders and explored the county’s needs, opportunities, challenges and resources. The curriculum focused on education, health care, economic development, environmental issues, government, and tourism. Each session was held at different venues throughout the county which allowed the participants to develop an enhanced view of Floyd County.
Local businesses hosting sessions included Carl D. Perkins Job Corps, Highlands Health System, Big Sandy Community & Technical College, Mountain Arts Center and the East Kentucky Science Center & Planetarium. The co-coordinators for the class were Leslie Fossitt, Big Sandy Community & Technical College and Dakota Maynard, First Commonwealth Bank.
The graduating participants for the 2014-15 class were of Danya Anderson, McDowell ARH; Kelli Ayers, Big Sandy Community & Technical College; Crystal Coleman, Skeans Marathon; Joe Campbell, Big Sandy Community & Technical College; Danita Reynolds, US Bank; Whitney Layne, First Commonwealth Bank; Stephanie Stratton, Citizens National Bank; and Heath Wiley, Gearheart Communications.

Pictured: Left to right – Stephanie Stratton, Danita Reynolds, Whitney Layne, Danya Anderson, Kelli Ayers, Crystal Coleman, Joe Campbell and Heath Wiley